Throw in question

The place for threads about playing tactics/techniques/rules etc.
Post Reply
Frentzen
Forum Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: 26 May 2020, 17:03

Throw in question

Post by Frentzen »

Hi all, quick question. Given a figure cannot be offside at a throw in when the ball is played directly to that figure and 2 flicks need to be made before a figure is called offside…. What about when a figure in an offside position receives the ball from the throw - via a deflection from another attacking figure, situated in an onside position - a ‘knock on’ if you like. In real footballing terms an offside would be called, but only a single flick has been taken. Maybe I’m overthinking it, I’m certainly confused! Thanks in advance.
Wacca
ISF Subscriber 2021-22
ISF Subscriber 2021-22
Posts: 70
Joined: 11 Oct 2016, 05:46
Location: Cannock

Re: Throw in question

Post by Wacca »

There will be others far more qualified than me, but the rule of thumb I use is that if it is not clear in the rules, then I try and abide to the laws of football as closely as I can.

So in your scenario, the player would be offside
Frentzen
Forum Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: 26 May 2020, 17:03

Re: Throw in question

Post by Frentzen »

Cheers Wacca.
Agreed, sometimes it’s a fine balance when replicating the laws of the game.
I was already gravitating toward making it an ‘Unless:’ rule.
Think I will
User avatar
krama
ISF Subscriber 2021-22
ISF Subscriber 2021-22
Posts: 1488
Joined: 10 Dec 2006, 00:06
Location: Tunbridge Wells

Re: Throw in question

Post by krama »

Frentzen hi. As you say, I think you might be overthinking it.
It's hard to replicate the exact rules of football to Subbuteo. Its best just to enjoy your game, otherwise you will be consumed with applying the correct rules, and bang goes your enjoyment!
I have to say also that in all my many years of playing and involvement, the offside from a throw in has never ever occurred to me once!! :Doh:
Frentzen
Forum Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: 26 May 2020, 17:03

Re: Throw in question

Post by Frentzen »

Cheers, karma.
I suppose until it actually occurs it won’t matter anyway!
User avatar
krama
ISF Subscriber 2021-22
ISF Subscriber 2021-22
Posts: 1488
Joined: 10 Dec 2006, 00:06
Location: Tunbridge Wells

Re: Throw in question

Post by krama »

No problem. Actually karma is a more appropriate name as it goes!! :lol!: :lol:
Silverfox63
Forum Newbie
Posts: 69
Joined: 16 Jul 2020, 16:59

Re: Throw in question

Post by Silverfox63 »

Hi Frentzen

I may be wrong here and no doubt there will be more qualified "rules" gurus who will answer it.

If you take the throw-in it can go direct to a figure in an offside position as in real football.
However in your instance it would be offside regardless of the two flick rule.
As Krama says, it very very rarely happens. As long as you and your opponent are agreed with an outcome go with it and enjoy the game.

On a side note I prefer the old TSPA rule where the figure taking the throw cannot enter the field of play and must stay behind the touchline. Stops ridiculous long throws.
Frentzen
Forum Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: 26 May 2020, 17:03

Re: Throw in question

Post by Frentzen »

Cheers Silverfox63
Post Reply

Return to “Playing: Rules/Techniques/Tactics Section”